SURVIVING SANDY, DOODLE STYLE

“Sandy” struck the North East of the United States on October 27-28, 2012. It was expected. It was talked about for a week before. We knew it was coming. But who knew it would be this bad? Going through a hurricane with 14 dogs, is an adventure. My 6, my sisters dog and my foster dogs, all huddled against the wind. Here, we weren’t getting much rain, thankfully. But the wind, holy moly.

Several times during the thick of it…Bang. I couldn’t go out to see what it was, but apparently one of the solar panels on our roof, loosened and was being picked up and dropped back by the wind. It never came off, but during the storm, I had no idea what it was. Every 10 minutes or so, there would be another bang that would set 14 dogs a-barking. Between that, the wind whistling around the house and the radio reports, it was pretty scary.

The power went out pretty early in the storm. I didn’t know then that it was going to be a long time without it. Thank the Universe, we had a generator, a gas stove and food. We we prepared. Right? I don’t think I thought it would be days of being out of touch with the World, however. The only connections I had to the outside world was an occasional text from my buds Adrienne and Lisa, my husband and boys, who are all volunteer firefighters would come in and out to check on us, and little emergency radio I bought a few years ago.

I heard about the flooding of Manhattan, the destruction of our beautiful shoreline and our Governor and President flying over to inspect the damage. But until I got some power back, I couldn’t imagine until I saw it for myself. My beloved home town, Belmar took a beating. Boardwalks I loved were destroyed. Sand covers everything. The dogs took it all in stride. The most difficult part was letting them out one at a time during the storm itself. They didn’t care it was blowing trees away to OZ out there. They all wanted to go out and bark at it. The garage tent I have right outside the back door took a beating. It is there to protect lawn furniture, to allow the dogs to be outside when the weather is decent, and a place to stay under when the weather is not so nice. I have been using one for many, many years. With the walls on 3 sides and the 4th against the house, these tents have withstood the hardest winter. Not Hurricane Sandy. The back fence fell, too. But we were able to tie it to trees and brace it, and it will be ok. We are still out of power and it may be weeks until the poles that fell are repaired.

So many, lost so much. I don’t know if our beautiful Jersey Shore will ever be the same. It is heartbreaking to see the pictures and video. Sending hugs to all who are still without power and suffering. My heart breaks for all the animals stranded, in shelters or lost. It is wonderful to see regular people, some who lost their own homes, pitching in to help. Sandy wrecked havoc, but we are strong and will survive. The dogs in my care are fine, the family is fine and we still have a home. We give Thanks for that.

, , , , ,

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

