A Busy Month of Rescuing

August 1, 2011

 

This last month and a half has been busy, scary, fun and most of all very rewarding. Oodles of Doodles Rescue Collective, rescued and found homes for 22 dogs that we pulled from kill shelters, vetted, transported, fostered and found loving homes for.

I am so proud of our team, and i just wanted to Thank them.

Kelly, my foster partner and friend who fostered all those “bubba” puppies and those huge doodles…all at the same time.

Adrienne who rescued an out of control pet store doodle, helped teach her house manners, got her spayed, called me about three times a day then found the perfect adopter for her.

Lisa, who took all the itty bitties, adopted one, found homes for the rest.

Sue, Susan and Jeannine who kept the listings and website rolling. You ladies are the very best and I couldn’t do this without you.

A great big Thank you to Toni Klemko. Without her Road Warriors, sometimes bringing 5 dogs at a time to us,  those dogs would have been “left behind” to a very uncertain fate. Toni also helped me, personally on realizing and facing my demons and knowing they can’t hurt me anymore. She helped assure us when we thought someone was trying to take one of my dogs off transport and when another was attempting to get a dog I had tagged. Toni…you rock and Thank you.

Finally, to Carla and Gail…you two ladies are part of the most caring and wonderful group, I have had the pleasure of working with. Paws of SWVA, pulls VA Kill Shelter pups, vets them, fosters them in loving homes and lets me know how they are doing every step of the way. I know my dogs are going to come off transport, happy, healthy and ready to be adopted. I wish they were all like that.

Many other Southern shelters don’t tell you anything and you know next to nothing until the dogs arrive. I even had one send a Heart worm positive little girl and they never told me but it was clearly on her papers.  There are Northern states banning and forcing licencing to rescues, who bring Southern Dogs up to the Northeast because they are sending sick dogs. I fear so many more will die if they do not figure out a way to put a program in place for rescues. There are even Southern Shelters that are not rescue friendly. What is the answer? I don’t know. I can’t solve all the problem of this world. It is a hard thing we do and that is a topic for another day.

As we go into the next month and the future, I hope we can continue to save as many as we can, one by one.

, , , ,

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

